OK. So I usually don’t do the meme thing on my blog – unless it’s a really really good one.

So when the marvelous Jenny Adams tagged me in this little pay-it-forward game, I was skeptical – until I clicked over to her blog and read the rules:

     1.  Go to page 7 or 77 in your current manuscript.
     2.  Go to line 7.
     3.  Copy down the next seven lines/sentences as they are – no cheating.
     4.  Tag seven other authors.

How fun is THAT??!?

This little challenge came at a good time for me. I have participated in the Six Sentence Sunday challenge (of the informal variety) for a while now; but those snippets have all been from WIPs in dire need of some serious overhaul.

Lately, however, I’ve taken my current WIP (about Gair, if you’ve been following my Sunday snippets) and done a massive edit. Said massive edit is still under way, in fact. But it has trimmed things so that when I took up Jenny’s challenge, my 77th page (7th line down, next 7 sentences) landed me at a favorite part:

His knees buckled, and he crashed to the ground. There was an angry shriek, and in the next moment small hands, smooth but strong, thrust beneath his chest. Jerin was flipped over like a dead bug, and lay where he fell, staring up into a darkening sky full of circling vultures. 

They are still watching, he thought. I wonder whose side they are on? But in the next moment they were blotted out by a faceless shadow with glittering stones for eyes.

Asleep?” came the rasping voice.

I should mention that this excerpt involves a volcanic obelisk, a blind dryad, poisonous herbs and a dwarf in disguise. 🙂

And now, for seven more writing souls who need to get in on the action:

1.  McKenzie @Love_Kenzie_
2.  Matt Sloan @falcon_feathers
3.  JoAnn Teal @jtvancouver
4.  Dasia @awkwardoptimist
5.  J Joseph Wright @windwhisperwood
6.  Jase @JaseR75
7.  Michelle Hayden @meshayden

PS- If you’re on Twitter, I would heartily recommend following all these amazing tweeps. 🙂

What did you think of the excerpt? Any feedback – good or bad?
Let me know in the comments!
