At some point, life will be normal (normaler?) and I’ll post more than twice or so a week.
If you’ve followed this blog a while, you know that my big creative project this semester is
directing the set/prop class for my school’s production of Midsummer Night’s Dream, 
by William Shakespeare. The kids have been working SO HARD on this and it’s
about to pay off. Right now we’re in the middle of dress rehearsals.
The Nutshell Players taking a well-deserved break at the cast party
following dress rehearsal for Midsummer Night’s Dream.
Casting from L to R: Hermia, [spectator], Lysander, Oberon, Nick Bottom and one of my set/props kiddos. 🙂
First performance is tomorrow night. And if Lysander continues to insist on breaking into song
every time he speaks to Helena while under the spell of the magic potion, I fear none of our
actors will manage keeping a straight face. 
Good thing they all have handkerchiefs to hide behind. Thank you, costume department.
Singing your lines seems to be the running joke with our actors right now. 
You never know when someone will burst into song at the drop of a hat, or 
ad lib their lines when they can’t remember Shakespeare’s version of things. 
(“They made off with my mustache – curseth them!”)
Oberon means business.
Nobody messes with his henchman.
…and we mean NOBODY.
My older set/prop students, meanwhile, have doubled as stage hands and light/sound operators, 
while my younger ones have worked their fingers raw making massive amounts of
crepe paper flowers to decorate the trees. Oberon’s crown, fairy potions, and other niggling
details came together at the last minute through persistence and a good deal of straight pins.
And a glue gun. God bless the inventor of the glue gun.
It took us a couple rehearsals to figure out where to put the paper mache toadstools where they
wouldn’t get trampled, or how to best manage Nick Bottom’s transformation into an ass. Since our 
venue was changed almost at the last minute, our students have had only a week or so in 
which to acclimatize to the new stage, which is of a totally different size and shape from where
they’ve practiced most of the semester.
All in all, I think they have adjusted very well. My set/prop students were equally flexible, and
I now think we have everything in its proper place, with minimal trip hazards for all.
Nick Bottom and company attempt to practice their play.
My iPhone, lovely as it is, doesn’t quite seem able to counterbalance the odd stage lighting, so
I will take further photos with my camera this weekend, in hopes of being able to do a
proper blog on our big debut. At the very least I need to show you the end result of all
our hard work on Nick Bottom’s donkey mask, on which we have been working a very long time.
In the meantime, I bid you adieu — I will see you next week after I fully recover from my trip
through fairyland, by way of a Shakespearean love triangle.
Have a great weekend!

