What’s this….a REAL post from Angela? 
*Watches as everyone runs to see if hell has frozen over*

This is me.
Well….okay. It’s NOT me.
But it looks like how I feel….most days.

Thomas Chalmers once said that “An adventure is an inconvenience rightly considered; an inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.”

If that’s the definition, then I have been adventuring like mad for a couple months now. Teaching, home therapy visits (I’m the therapist, not the therap-ee, just so you know), tutoring, and other obligations have hit fever pitch. All of them. At once.

But in the middle of it all – I’m still writing.

More than that, I’m planning to make my yearly Alice imitation in just 38 short days, and believe six impossible things before breakfast. Every day. For a month.

I’m joining the NaNoWriMo bandwagon again this year. Though I have five jobs, with all the myriad obligations that go with them – not to mention family, church, and a social life – I’m going to commit to 1677 words a day for 30 days in November.

Why am I telling you this?

1. Because I need to be held accountable. If I don’t tell on myself, then it’s easier to make excuses, and weasel out of the commitment.

2. Because I have a story that needs to be told. Welsan the soul-reaper already has a small but committed fan club. I’ve promised those readers that I would complete a solid book (actually it’s looking more like a trilogy at this point) about him and his entanglements with the shadow-breather, Jada. I need to keep that promise.

3. Because NaNoWriMo is the most encouraging event in a would-be-published-author’s calendar year. Especially if you’re on Twitter, and already have a finger on the writing world there, you know that NaNo is when alliances are made. Friendships are forged. People become the running gag in each other’s subplots. Elephants of Doom are given names and spawn novels of their own. If you need to notch into an online writing community – NaNo is the time to do it.

It was the happiest coincidence of my life (or one of them, at least – definitely falls in the top three) that I happened on Twitter, blogging, and a second go at NaNoWriMo all at the same time. To say that I have learned so much in the past year from the blogging experience, not to mention the wonderful people I’ve met via Twitter, is a massive understatement. Last September I was still a Dabbler. Now I’m perusing lists of literary agents and marking my calendar for when I’ll start querying.

But that book won’t write itself. And though I’ve already got a skeleton story cobbled together, it needs a real narrative that connects all these floating ideas. So I’m taking the NaNo plunge, once again.

As NaNo gets closer, I’ll likely be posting more and more snorkeling-original blog posts, as well as the usual weekly Visual Dare and the occasional Five Sentence Fiction, or Welsan episode. So be sure to keep stopping by, as the frenzy is only going to grow the closer we get to November 1st.

And if you’re not already on Twitter, OR registered on the NaNoWriMo website – go do it. Now.

Or the Elephant of Doom will trample ALL your plot bunnies.

I speak from experience.

Are you planning to do NaNoWriMo this year? Even unofficially, with a half-goal word count?
Let me know!! Also, be sure to give me your Twitter handle so I can find you (if I’m not following you already). 
That way, we we can all be mad together when the November madness rolls around. 🙂

