If you follow me on social media – Twitter or Facebook, especially – you might’ve noticed I’ve been quieter than usual lately. Why? The answer is simple: I have expended a tremendous amount of energy to accommodate three very big changes in my life:

1.  I am moving.

2.  I have acquired studio space for my pottery.

3.  I now have an editor for my manuscript.

To say that my life is about to change in a very big way is a massive understatement; and since you have taken the time to follow my blog (or my tweets, or my Facebook posts), and care about who I am and what I do (or make, or write), then I offer here a short explanation of what is happening in Angela-Land.

ONE: I AM MOVING.
Farewell, little hobbit-house. *sniff*

Alas, I am moving from my beloved 123-year-old “hobbit house” that I’ve rented these past 11 1/2 years, and into the upstairs apartment of a new house. While I’ll certainly miss my little nest on the outskirts of town, I am hopeful that sharing the weight of bill-paying, being more centrally located to my various realms of employment, and other related adjustments will allow me to become financially solvent and bolster my savings account, to boot. It’s a bittersweet yet necessary change that I see as a huge turning point, in and of itself.

TWO: I NOW HAVE AN ART STUDIO.
It’s coming together!! *SQUEE*

After nearly ten years of waiting, looking, and “making do” with the resources at hand, I FINALLY have dedicated space for my pottery! Thanks to a very dear friend who moved into a house with an abundant workshop area, I now have a little corner in which to house my creative endeavors. Now I can get back to throwing bowls, yarn bowls, tree mugs (and plain mugs), brie bakers and all the rest! Who knows — maybe I’ll even be able to reopen my Etsy shop!

THREE: I NOW HAVE AN EDITOR.
 

Of all the changes going on now, this one has my head spinning the fastest. If I’ve waited a decade for the pottery studio, I have waited three times that long to become a published author. I’m still not there yet – no agent or publisher in sight at the moment – but I’ve taken a huge step in the right direction by hiring the gifted Kassie Bettis to edit my forthcoming manuscript, Memento Mori (known to my Twitter followers simply as #Welsan).

And with that blessing comes a hard and fast deadline in early December that I must meet. The lovely Kassie is getting married next spring, and December is her one opportunity to bleed all over my manuscript in the lovingly traumatic way that it needs without detracting her from bigger responsibilities (mostly, getting married and enduring another semester of graduate school).

This is both an exhilarating and daunting prospect, and it means three things:

1. I will not be able to give individualized feedback to my VisDare authors for the near future. I’m so sorry about this, but Welsan must come first for the time being.

2.  I will not be able to participate in, judge, host, or otherwise help out with any flash fiction challenges for the near future. Again, Welsan must take priority over the next six to eight weeks.

3. Despite what you may have seen on my NaNoWriMo profile, I will be an unofficial participant this year. This means:

a.  I am dropping my original sci-fi project that I had slated for this year’s NaNoWriMo.

b.  I have absolutely NO delusions of adequacy of reaching 50,000 words in one month.

c. I will use NaNoWriMo to help me finish Memento Mori so I can meet my December deadline.

What’s next? Um….probably packing. Erk. 😦

There. That’s life in Angela-Land just now. Thank you for bearing with me through such a lengthy explanation. However, there are enough of you who have cheered me on through one or more of these obstacles that I felt like I owed my community an explanation. And you have listened to my blathering, patiently and graciously, once again.

Thank you for being my community.

Thank you for being so helpful and supportive.

Thank you for cheering me on.

And THANK YOU especially for journeying with me into this next phase of The Great Adventure – whatever that may look like for me.

Thank you.
God bless.
Write (or create, work, sing, play) on!

~ Angela

There. Now you see me, now you don’t. I’m busy writing. 
Annnnnd maybe tweeting a smidge. Possibly. 🙂
