Today I had the luxury of having an entire Monday to myself – at home, in my pajamas, doing what *I* wanted to do. I decided it was time to bite the bullet with some spring cleaning, so I rolled up my sleeves and went to work.

Of course, at my house, “spring cleaning” usually translates to “sort through papers.”

Lots. Of. Papers.

But at the bottom of a bag of assorted papers, I found something I’d wholly forgotten I’d even had: a daily Books-A-Million calendar from 2009, which suggested a new book for every day of the year. 365 pages, 365 suggestions.

IMG_3707

Pages from said calendar, that didn’t make the cut. May still check this one out, though. 🙂

I don’t have the calendar itself any more; but what I found was a stack of ripped-out pages from that calendar, of those books I’d thought the most interesting. Titles that made me pause and think “Hey – I ought to check this one out.”

But today I was cleaning. I was getting organized! (Finally!….er…sortof.)

But I was also distracted by all those book titles.

In an effort to not let it go to my head, I did a quick triage of my carefully hoarded book suggestions. If I’d already read something, or had changed my mind about the subject or genre, I trashed it; but a few titles still grabbed me, enough that I kept them one more day so I could type them here, in hopes that maybe I might splurge and get at least a few on my Kindle…soonish.

And so I list them here, thinking that maybe all the wonderfully eclectic readers of my blog might be able to shed some light on them. Would you recommend any of these or not? Why? And if it comes to that – what books would you ADD to the list? Let me know!

Because…you know…a gal can really never have too many books. 🙂

 BOOKS THAT MADE THE “TO READ” CUT – TWICE (and five years apart!)

Born on a Blue Day: Inside the Extraordinary Mind of an Autistic Savant, by Daniel Tammet (2007)

The Ramayana: A Modern Retelling of the Great Indian Epic, by Ramesh Menon (2004)

Lords of the North, by Bernard Cornwell (2007)

With, by Donald Harington (2004)

Labyrinth, by Kate Mosse (2007)

The Janissary Tree, by Jason Goodwin (2007)

A Thousand Splendid Suns, by Khaled Hosseni (2007)

Around the World on a Bicycle, by Thomas Stevens (1887/2001)

Flight, by Sherman Alexie (2007)

The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid, by Bill Bryson (2006)

Life of Johnson, by James Boswell (1791/1998)

 

