Blogger’s Note: The Triple VisDare returns for NaNoWriMo on November 5th! Stay tuned!

882f2-images

Writing is hard.

Editing is harder.

Or maybe it’s the other way around.

Either way, the road to publishing is not for sissies. I don’t feel like Superwoman while I’m in the writing trenches, anyway. That’s why it’s important, I think, for any writer to stop now and then and take stock of where you’ve been, and what inspired you to set off on your own writing journey.

images-38

A few weeks ago, one of the ubiquitous “Do this and tag 10 friends, plus the person who tagged you first” trends made its round through Facebook. As a general rule, I ignore them; but this one caught my eye because it was about books. A Top Ten list of favorite books, to be exact.

Like any good bibliophile, I can’t reasonably narrow down my favorite books to ONLY ten. In my head, books are categorized into sub-listings of Top Tens: Top 10 Favorite Picture Books. Top 10 YA Historical Novels. Top 10 NonFiction Travel Writing. And so on.

But since I am currently in the editing trenches, I thought it would be good to jump in the Top Ten Tuesday trend and list the 10 books that have had the most profound influence on my current project, Memento Mori. Not all of these are obvious correlations to Welsan’s saga, but they have all had their impact – whether in content, writing style, or both.

Abhorsen, by Garth Nix
Bridge of Birds, by Barry Hughart
Silverlock, by John Myers Myers
Sylvie and Bruno, by Lewis Carroll
The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, by C S Lewis
Egil’s Saga – 11th Century Viking Saga (author unknown)
Man Without a Country, by Edward Everett Hale
To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee
The Once and Future King, by T H White
Christy, by Catherine Marshall

What about you?

What books have influenced your current project – or writing in general?

Drop by the comments and let me know!

