IMG_1831

It’s been busy around here lately. What have you been up to?

I went to post the next Triple Visual Dare tonight and realized that the two challenges of the past two weeks have merited only one entry. This is very different from the past few years. I don’t know if it’s because I haven’t tweeted enough, or if everyone is swamped with other writing/work obligations, or some other reason.

I know I’ve been very busy. Having recently adopted the responsibility of raising my two nephews for a season, on top of four jobs and a host of other obligations, I know that my computer time is quite restricted at present. When I can sit in front of a computer for non-work-related pursuits, I focus almost exclusively on my NaNo manuscript, which is an idea I’ve pursued since college and am hopeful I’ve finally found the right structure and fabric for its telling.

When I’m not working, NaNo-ing, or playing SuperMom to two active boys, I’m working on getting Memento Mori ready for my editor in December.

decorative-line-divider1

At any rate, it looks like the 3VisD is not meeting the needs of my writer friends this year; and as it takes time to select photos, set up the link-in widget, etc, I’m thinking that maybe that is energy I should spend instead on mapping out some Real Blog posts (been working on some things for a while) and lining up the regular Visual Dares for 2015.

Several people have asked if we will be returning to the usual, one photo, 150-word limit  Visual Dare in the near future. The answer is yes. The regular challenge will return on January 14th, and I hope you will join us.

And if you were really hoping to hop in on a Triple Visual Dare this week, I offer you this pinboard of Flash Fiction photos I have used over the years – either for Visual Dares, or other flash ficitoning opportunities. (Unused VisDare photos are on a secret pinboard. Sorry – no spoilers available for the 2015 lineup!)

Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts in the comments. 

