10881904_379463158890441_2207856805925145116_n

No game of ninepins was involved in this long winter’s nap. But boy, did I need it.

I feel like I’ve just woken up.

Not just because it’s New Year’s Day, and I slept in till almost noon. (Wasn’t THAT a nice luxury?) I mean my blog, which has been more or less in hibernation since NaNoWriMo, For various reasons, I needed to hit the pause button on posts here – even on the weekly Visual Dare challenges – so that other things could fall into place.

* I had a deadline to meet for the next full edit of my debut novel, Memento Mori.
* I needed an outline for blog posts for the coming calendar year
* I had posts to write, and authors to interview, for many of those posts.
* I needed to line up Visual Dare challenges for 2015

Somehow, amid all the holiday craziness, I hit all four of those marks. Granted – I didn’t send out copies of Memento Mori to beta readers until Christmas Day (original deadline was December 12th) – but they did go out. But my writing endeavors for December didn’t stop there.

decorative-line-divider1

As I Rip Van Winkled my way back to the land of the living, I took stock of how my world has changed – as a writer, a blogger, and a person. I had to shake off the old cobwebs and make a fresh start of my old endeavors. New blog outline and posting schedule. New topics. Interviews. VisDare challenges prepped and ready through next NaNoWriMo. So far, I think I’ve hit a combination of factors that work for me.

So I’m feeling pretty good about the blogging front right now. Next week I return to a regular posting schedule, and I hope you enjoy what you see.

And to those who have asked: The VisDare challenge returns this month, on January 14th. One photo, 150 words, with the same parameters as before – but hopefully with the high quality of photographs my usual flash fiction gurus have come to expect.

More info about this forthcoming at the top of next week. Hope to see you there…!

In the meantime: I hope everyone has had, and will continue to have, a wonderful New Year’s holiday.

And above all – Keep on writing!

