Huzzah!! I actually squeezed out enough time to participate in Lillie McFerrin’s weekly flash fiction challenge, Five Sentence Fiction. Her weekly prompt has a special place in my heart, as it is through this challenge that I got into flash fiction to begin with. It is also how my current manuscript, Memento Mori, got its inauspicious beginnings.

True to my usual approach, I tried to take the prompt and use it in an unconventional way, and without actually using the word in the story. Let me know what you think! (And be sure to check out the 5SF prompts for yourself!)

4ae8de47fbff901ceb297d174ea02ed3

photo source

In the dark she lay on her wire rack, pain shooting through her back and down her legs. It hurt too much to sleep, but neither could she get up and walk her cramped cell. Not till daylight broke through the solitary grate could she stir from the iron grid that pressed into her bruised and chaffing skin. At night the cell rustled with faceless creatures, as they crissed and crossed the filthy stones and skittered into the corners. Experience had taught her that they’d leave her alone only if she stayed put atop the comfortless frame, protected by the few inches that separated her from a misery far worse than a sleepless night.

