Okay. I try really hard not to be a walking commercial here, but I’ve found several things lately that just lit my candle in terms of writing help. During last NaNoWriMo, it was my timely purchase of Scrivener. Then it was the Day One journaling app. Then last night, a friend pointed me in the direction of The Hemingway App.

3026703-inline-i-3-learn-to-write-like-papa-with-the-hemingway-app

Allow me to say that I’ve never had any love for Hemingway as an author. (Yes, that makes me a heretic among American History and Lit teachers, I know. Sorry for the betrayal.) But even I recognize the need to “cut the fluff” in my own writing, a thing which dear old Ernest managed in spades.

The app is simple. Go to the page, read the ridiculously simple instructions, then delete the highlighted examples. Paste in an excerpt from your own WIP. Then stand back and let your socks be blown right off. (Just don’t forget to make the absurdly easy edits.)

I spent thirty minutes last night putting the opening two chapters of Memento Mori through it, and boy howdy did it clean up some wordy messes. Needless to say, the remainder of Memento Mori will pass through the Hemingway gauntlet as well.

Think it could help you? It probably can.

Go ahead. Try it. I’ll wait right here. I want to know what you think.

*pulls up chair and waits patiently*

*does a double think, grabs laptop, puts chapter 3 through the app*

*type type type type type*

