Behold, my missing laptop.

  

It is currently at the computer hospital,  to counter an ugly bit of MalWare that masqueraded as an Adobe Flash update.

Honestly, I’m surprised it hasn’t happened before in the 3.5 years I’ve owned this thing. Yes, it’s a Mac, and yes, I’m super paranoid about where and how I click on things. But it still happens. This week, it was my turn.

I’m just glad it happened now, and not after the beginning of school.

Even so, this puts a kink in things for my weekly writerly plans. Namely:

  1. There will be no VisDare this week, unfortunately. I could post a photo, but I can’t set up the InLinkz widget over my phone. So, bah humbug.
  2. I must wait to finish “scrubbing” Memento Mori in edits. Only 12 chapters left! But no Scrivener available on my phone or iPad. Which means…
  3. If I promised you a beta copy of Memento Mori by week’s end, it may be a day or two late. I’m so sorry about that.

Fortunately, I triple backed up my work, so there’s nothing losing the manuscript, even if they have to wipe my hard drive (which they already said wasn’t necessary). That is what years of owning a PC taught me: Back up your work. Back up your work. Back up your work.

I am so glad I did.

Hopefully I’ll have my computer back in two days, good as new. Here’s hoping!

Meantime, I hope everyone is having a wonderful summer, and that all your writing projects are clicking along.

Thanks for reading! VisDare returns next Tuesday midnight.

– A

