My desk and bedside tables are overflowing with books purchased, loaned, or handed off to me with the words “YOU MUST READ THIS” and I’m…well…having a hard time getting to all of them.

I am a history and literature teacher, so that complicates things.

But these books…they’re all staring me in the face and I NEED the time to read them all. Or finish them, as I’ve started quite a few and just got interrupted.

Titles currently in the queue:

Tanglewreck – Winterson

American Gods – Gaiman

Enclave – Aguire

The Red Pyramid – Riordan

Runemarks – Harris

The Knowledge: How to Rebuild Civilization in the Aftermath of a Cataclysm – Dartnell

Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy – Metaxas

Origin – Khoury

Daughter of Sand and Stone – Hawker

I should probably add To Kill a Mockingbird to the lineup, as I am teaching it this month so I am on another reread….Tanglewreck and The Red Pyramid are at the insistence of the nephews (and who can resist such a recommendation?), but the others….where do I even begin? Recommendations? Anyone? Bueller?

